Why?

I’ve wanted to start up a little blog for awhile now. Why? Well, I think that I have something interesting to say –  a unique perspective on the world. Only time will tell if this is true or not, but in the meantime, I’m gonna give it a go. Hope you enjoy it! (And if you hate it, that’s ok too.)

Hooray for spOakland!

The plan is to offer a commentary on life in the Bay Area through the lens of  myself, Dominic, a self-identified cyclist, nerd, community activist/organizer, hip hop-head, working class, 20-something male of mixed racial descent.  I live in Oakland, California and spend many of my waking hours traversing the greater Bay Area via bicycle and public transit.  (Probably more hours than I should.)  I derive great pleasure and satisfaction from living as car-free as possible – which is often challenging given my current employment as a bike messenger/mechanic/do-it-all for City CarShare.

On my initial foray into the blogosphere, expect spOaktown to offer an ongoing exploration of Bay Are “bike culture,” local  politics and the occasional, unrelated rant.

One thought on “Why?

Leave a Reply

