Scattered Thoughts on Bike Camping & Touring

Just returned from an awesome lil’ event: BikeShare: Camp, at Homespun Bikes.

I can’t even begin to express how glad I am that Homespun exists.  Super mellow vibe, community-minded and unpretentious, they’re a great addition to the neighborhood.  I had a wonderful time tonight listening to the presentations, wandering around the shop and mingling with my people.  I’ve never seen so many cycling caps in the same room, at the same time in my life.  Good lord!

The format of the event was similar to that of TED Talks, with several people sharing ideas and stories on the topic of bike camping and touring.  I didn’t plan on posting anything about the event.  However, I feel full of bike Love right now and want to share a few scattered thoughts/notes/shout outs with you before I hit the sack…

  • Your bicycle turns the world into a play ground.
  • Unlike other, faster forms of transit, the pace of travel by bicycle provides the rider with a more intimate sense of time and space.
  • Bikenoir.blogspot.com
  • When preparing food for bike trips, consider the following: you can dehydrate pretty much anything; hit up Asian markets for packaged goods; EmergenC packets are great for replacing electrolytes; you can buy dried shrimp at Berkeley Bowl!
  • Post-Car Press
  • I want to visit Mercy Hot Springs.
  • Camping hammocks sound like a good idea in theory…
  • I want to take BART to Walnut Creek, stop at Rivendell, then ride to the top of Mt. Diablo, camp, wake up, and ride home.
  • It costs $50 to ship a bike one-way on Southwest.
  • Mid-week, overnight bike camping trips are totally doable.

And, because I’m totally vain, a picture of my Surly Long Haul Trucker:

My ride, near the Pigeon Point Lighthouse.

One thought on “Scattered Thoughts on Bike Camping & Touring

  1. If you want to go to Mercey, let me know. My brother has a chicken ranch just down the road. I wanna ride down there May 21st for judgment day. It seems like a good place to hole up and there’s not too many people around so the undead should be less of a problem.

Leave a Reply

